Isle of Man Ship Registry Registry Advice Note



PERSONS QUALIFIED TO OWN A MANX SHIP

Ref. 02-16 Issued 05/12/2022

Most Regulations, notices and advice notes are available on the Isle of Man Ship Registry web site: www.iomshipregistry.com or by contacting a Registrar at marine.registry@gov.im

The following persons and organisations are qualified to own a Manx ship under Section 2 of the Merchant Shipping Registration Act 1991:

Individuals.

- British Citizens;
- British Overseas Territory Citizens;
- British Overseas Citizens;
- British Subjects;
- British Nationals (Overseas); or
- A citizen of any of the countries listed in Schedule 1.

Bodies Corporate.

Bodies Corporate incorporated in any of the following countries and having their principal place of business in any of the following countries:

- The Isle of Man;
- The United Kingdom;
- The Channel Islands; or
- Any of the countries listed in Schedule 1.

Limited Partnerships.

- 1. Limited partnerships must:
 - a) have their principal place of business in:
 - The Isle of Man;
 - The United Kingdom;
 - The Channel Islands; or
 - Any of the countries listed in Schedule 1, AND



- b) be registered in any of the countries listed in paragraph 2; AND
- c) have a general partner which is:
 - i) an individual resident in any of the countries listed in paragraph 2; **OR**
 - ii) a body corporate incorporated and which has its principal place of business in any of the countries listed in paragraph 2.

2. Countries

- The Isle of Man;
- Belgium;
- Bermuda;
- The Cayman Islands;
- Denmark;
- Germany;
- Malta;
- Norway;
- Sweden;
- The Netherlands; or
- The United Kingdom.

Please note - The Isle of Man Ship Registry cannot give legal advice. Where this document provides guidance on the law it should not be regarded as definitive. The way the law applies to any particular case can vary according to circumstances - for example, from vessel to vessel. You should consider seeking independent legal advice if you are unsure of your own legal position



Schedule 1

European Union: British Overseas Territories:

Austria Anguilla Belgium Bermuda

Bulgaria British Antarctic Territory
Croatia British Indian Ocean Territory

Cyprus British Virgin Islands
Czech Republic Caymans Islands
Denmark Falkland Islands

Estonia Gibraltar
Finland Montserrat
France Pitcairn Islands

Germany St Helena, Ascension and Tristan Da Cunha

Greece South Georgia

Hungary South Sandwich Islands

Ireland Sovereign base areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia

Italy Turks and Caicos Islands

Latvia

Lithuania Other countries:

Luxembourg Australia
Malta Bahamas
Poland Canada
Portugal China
Romania Hong Kong

Slovakia India
Slovenia Japan
Spain Liberia

Sweden Marshall Islands

Netherlands Monaco

New Zealand

European Economic Area:PakistanIcelandPanamaLiechtensteinSingapore

Liechtenstein Singapore
Norway South Africa

South Korea Switzerland

United Arab Emirates
United States of America

